- Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA)
- Department of Labor (DOL)
- Employment Discrimination
- Employment Liability
- Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
- Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)
- Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
- Human Resources
- Labor Law
- Minimum Wage
- National Labor Relations Act
- National Labor Relations Board
- Right to Work
- Title VII
- Union Organizing & Relations
- Wage & Hour
- Whistleblower Protection Act
- Workplace Harassment
- DOL’S Fiduciary Duty Rule May Take Effect April 10... or NOT
- Appellate Court ‘Labors’ Over Collective Bargaining, Right to Work Rulings
- Employer’s Well-Played Pre-Termination Strategy Results in Favorable Ruling
- A Fibber and Two Dismissals
- Same-Actor Defense Panned by Appellate Court in Direct Evidence of Stereotyping Case
- Are You Prepared for the New FLSA Regulations?
- Appellate Court Rules Licensed Attorney is a 'Public Body' Under Michigan Whistleblowers’ Protection Act
- Sample Notice for Wellness Programs and New Retaliation Guidance
- Revised OSHA Regs Tackle Electronic Reporting, More Employee Involvement, Drug Testing
Michigan's Increased Minimum Wage Rate Takes Effect
Michigan minimum wage employees get boost in pay beginning on Jan. 1.
Effective Jan 1, 2017, the Michigan minimum wage rate increased from $8.50 to $8.90 per hour.
The youth training wage, which accounts for 85 percent of the minimum wages paid, increased from $7.25 to $7.57 per hour. And, the tipped employee minimum wage rate went from $3.23 to $3.38 per hour. Of course, tipped employees must report tips at the hourly rate of $5.52 per hour in order to be eligible.
But don’t get too comfortable – rates are scheduled to increase again on Jan 1, 2018 to $9.25, $7.86 and $3.52 per hour (with reported tips of $5.73 per hour), respectively.Tags: Minimum Wage, Wage & Hour