Press Releases


Bernstein Appointed to Hydroplane Racing Board


Plunkett Cooney partner Douglas C. Bernstein was recently appointed to the H1 Unlimited Board of Directors for the Air National Guard hydroplane race series. 

He is joined on the 13-member board by Scott Carson, a retired Boeing executive and Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) commissioner, and Fred Hauenstein, a retired Mercury Marine engineer. An ex-officio (non-voting) member of the board, Bernstein also serves as general counsel for H1 Unlimited.

Bernstein, who is Plunkett Cooney's Banking, Bankruptcy & Creditor's Rights Practice Group Leader, concentrates his practice in the areas of commercial litigation, commercial loan restructuring and workouts, commercial loan documentation, bankruptcy, banking-related litigation and appeals.

The Air National Series National Guard kicks off July 1-3 in Madison, Ind., followed by events in Detroit, Tri-Cities, Washington, Seattle, San Diego and Doha, Qatar. A seventh race will be added in the coming weeks.

H1 Unlimited racing features the fastest race boats on the water with a turbine-powered hydroplane reaching speeds of up to 200 mph and drivers are subjected to G-forces of up to 6 Gs in turns.

Bernstein has been a fan of Unlimited racing since he was a child and considers himself a student of the sport. It’s that sense of history he brings to the board, which makes financial and rulebook decisions that shape the direction of the sport.

“When I was a kid I was on the other side of the chain-link fence at Muncey Park (in Detroit) looking in and wishing I could get into the pits,” said Bernstein. “Now I’m on the other side of the fence.”

Bernstein currently serves as board member on the Detroit River Regatta Association, which coordinates the annual Gold Cup in Detroit. He serves as the general counsel to the APBA and held the same post with the Hydro-Prop Unlimited Racing Series (the sport’s previous sanctioning organization). Bernstein was also involved with the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame.

The three new board members join Chairman Sam Cole and Vice Chairman Ken Muscatel; owner representatives Greg O’Farrell, John O’Brien, Ted Porter and Fred Leland; race site representatives Bill Rands, Mike Denslow, Tony Steinhart and Eric Corning.

For more information on the Air National Series National Guard, visit the Series’ web site at